Catalogue of Arcade Emulation Software - the Absolute Reference

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!



Large CAESAR Logo

Sonic The Hedgehog 2 (Mega-Tech)

Sonic The Hedgehog 2 (c) 1992 Sega.

The nefariously evil scientist Dr. Ivo Robotnik is at it again with his demented goal to conquer the world by forcing innocent animals to become evil 'badniks' (by that i mean, his robots). and only one speedy hedgehog is eager enough to put a stop to Robotnik's scheme and his name is Sonic The Hedgehog. and this time he's not alone, Miles Prower (miles per hour, get it?) The Fox who's commonly known as 'Tails' because he has 2 tails which enable him to fly has decided to tag along with Sonic in order to bring peace back to the planet.


Sega Mega-Tech hardware

Game ID : Mega-Tech No. 62

Main CPU : 68000, (2x) Z80

Sound Chips : YM3438, (2x) SN76496

Screen orientation : Horizontal

Video resolution : 320 x 416 pixels

Screen refresh : 60.00 Hz

Palette colors : 96

Players : 2

Control : 8-way joystick

Buttons : 3


* Stage Select : Under the 'Sound Test' menu, listen to sounds 19, 65, 09, and 17 in order; you'll hear a chime when you activate the last sound. Next, return to the title screen, highlight '1 Player', hold A and press Start to access the stage-select menu.

* Chaos Emeralds Cheat : At the Stage Select menu, highlight 'Sound Test' and listen to sounds 04, 01, 02, and 06 in order; you'll hear the fanfare that sounds when you get a Chaos Emerald. This code gives you all of the Chaos Emeralds; you can grab 50 rings and jump to change into Super Sonic. With this you'll be able to see the 'good' ending when you beat the game.

* Debug Mode : At the Stage Select menu, highlight 'Sound Test' and listen to sounds 01, 09, 09, 02, 01, 01, 02 and 04 in order; you'll hear a chime to confirm. Now highlight the name of any stage, hold the A button and press Start; don't release A until the stage begins. Screen coordinates will appear instead of a score and the number of objects displayed will appear instead of the time remaining. Use one of the following buttons sequences to enable the corresponding debug code...

Object transformation : Press B during game play to change Sonic/Tails into a game object.

1) Press A to change into a new object.

2) Press C to place an object on the screen.

3) Press B again to revert back to Sonic (Note : The type of object that may be selectable will vary from level to level).

Invincibility : Sonic/Tails is, by default, invincible in debug mode (Note : Sonic/Tails can still drown, be crushed, fall and die, etc. He is only invincible to enemy attacks).

Slow motion : Pause gameplay and hold B.

Restart : Pause gameplay and press A.

Frame advance : Pause gameplay and press C.


1. Sonic The Hedgehog (1991, Sega Mega Drive)

2. Sonic The Hedgehog 2 (1992, Sega Mega Drive)

3. Sonic The Hedgehog CD (1993, Sega Mega CD)

4. Sonic The Hedgehog 3 (1994, Sega Mega Drive)

5. Sonic and Knuckles (1994, Sega Mega Drive)

6. Knuckles' Chaotix (1995, Sega Mega Drive 32X)

7. Sonic Adventure (1999, Sega Dreamcast)

8. Sonic Adventure 2 (2001, Sega Dreamcast)

9. Sonic Adventure 2 - Battle (2001, Nintendo Gamecube)

10. Sonic Advance (2001, Nintendo Game Boy Advance)

11. Sonic Advance 2 (2002, Nintendo Game Boy Advance)

12. Sonic Adventure DX - Director's Cut (2003, Nintendo Gamecube)

13. Sonic N (2003, Nokia N-Gage)

14. Sonic Advance 3 (2004, Nintendo Game Boy Advance)

15. Sonic Heroes (2004, Nintendo Gamecube, Microsoft Xbox, Sony PlayStation 2)

16. Sonic Rush (2005, Nintendo DS)

17. Sonic The Hedgehog (2006, Microsoft XBox 360) (2007, Sony PlayStation 3 & PC)

18. Sonic and the Secret Rings (2007, Nintendo Wii)


Lead programmer : Yuji Naka


* Consoles :

Sega Game Gear (1992)

Sega Master System (1992)

Sega Mega Drive (1992)

Sony PlayStation 2 (2006, "Genesis Collection")

Sony PSP (2006, "Genesis Collection")

* Others :

Tiger Handheld LCD Game (1992)